A New Heaven…

So considering day 5s original topic is… 05. A time you thought about ending your own life… kind of drab. I’m going to instead write about how some days, I do indeed long for eternity.

Sometimes (such as a few weeks ago, when twenty 6 year old children were killed) I hate being here. I don’t like waking up knowing that someone could shoot up an elementary school (my daughter is in 1st grade). Or that going to the movies isn’t safe (but, who has time for THAT anyway?). I don’t like knowing that in the neighborhood that my husband works in, people die often; it’s not uncommon for him to go back to work after a weekend & hear of yet another twenty something being murdered. I don’t like the fact that I have to worry about cancer risk or the fact that my husband is a cancer survivor (I like that he survived but not that 5 year old children even get cancer in the first place).

This world is a mess. Sure, there are islands where people can escape to and pretend, for a short period, that darkness doesn’t surround us – but then, they turn on the news and it’s everywhere. We can’t get away from it. I think about these things and I long for the day that Jesus, the Son of God, will return in all of His glory and He will make all things new.

I am so grateful that I have nothing to fear in this life because I know that Jesus has defeated death and the worst thing that could possibly happen to me here has no weight compared to the promises of God.

So, although, I don’t think about ending my own life, I do long for the day when humanity will no longer have that desire because life here will be worth living.

 

God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and death shall be no more, neither shall there be anguish (sorrow and mourning) nor grief nor pain any more, for the old conditions and the former order of things have passed away.

And He Who is seated on the throne said, See! I make all things new. Also He said, Record this, for these sayings are faithful (accurate, incorruptible, and trustworthy) and true (genuine).

And He [further] said to me, It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I [Myself] will give water without price from the fountain (springs) of the water of Life.

He who is victorious shall inherit all these things, and I will be God to him and he shall be My son. (Revelation 21:4-7)

 

Love.

Leave a Reply

