everything and nothing

No more willing and effective evangelist and teacher exists than one who has been humbled, cleansed, renewed and restored! -Beth Moore.

Blessed [happy] is the man
who walks not in the counsel of the wicked,
nor stands in the way of sinners,
nor sits in the seat of scoffers…
Psalm 1:1

Sometimes, we get lost in the meaning of the word sinner, I think it’s because we all still have the belief that we are “sinners” (and, by all means, we do sin but once you’ve been set apart by Christ, He no longer sees you as merely a ‘sinner’, in fact, He sees you as holy and blameless according to Colossians 1:21-23). Or, the other extreme is when we forget that we’ve ever sinned. So, we lift our heads a little too high and have the hardest time understanding that people need Christ and that He is the only answer for this world that continues to fall apart.

We find ourselves either trying a little hard to relate to sinners, at the bar, after one too many drinks or we choose not to interact with anyone who may be considered a sinner because we’re call to be set apart.

We stand for everything and nothing at the same time.

I can hear the response now from those who are so close to the world that you can’t see the difference between them and the person next to them in a bar, “but, Jesus hung out with the sinners”. And, I’ll be the first person to admit, yes, He sure did. I’d know. But, the difference between Jesus and people today is that Jesus wasn’t a sinner, He never sinned. He never compromised the truth that He stood for nor did He ever get carried away while trying to ‘fit in’. Jesus never had just one too many drinks.

I love Christ because while I was still a sinner, He loved me – but I trust Him because He never failed me; He never swayed from who He is. His character is consistent and trustworthy. I chose to dedicate my life to Jesus Christ because He is never changing. He’s faithful to His word and His actions and His words align, perfectly. He hates sin but He loves sinners – and, when He shared with them, they were never the same again.

The mentality that we are still sinners and that Jesus needs us to walk in the way of sinners in order to reach them is flawed. When God transforms a person, He calls them to be set-apart. So, I guess what’s really on my heart is this, Jesus doesn’t need you to be so in the world that no one can even tell that you know Him. We don’t need to “stand in the way of sinners” because God has called us to something different, something satisfying and beautiful.

And, because we know that God is faithful and just, we can trust that when we love and serve Him, He will do what He has promised and draw all men unto Himself – but I believe, in order for that to ever happen, we need to show the world what the love of Christ really looks like & not just blend in with a world that desperately needs Christ.

I believe that the greatest testimony to any person who either knows Christ or doesn’t desire to — is to see a person who claims to love God and actually looks different than the majority who claim to love God, but blend right in with those who couldn’t care less.

Hide your face from my sins,
and blot out all my iniquities.
Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a right spirit within me.
Cast me not away from your presence,
and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
and uphold me with a willing spirit.
Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
and sinners will return to you.
Psalm 51:9-13

Leave a Reply

