Fresh Air

The Lord will call you back as if you were a wife deserted and distressed in spirit — a wife who married young, only to be rejected, says your God. Isaiah 54:6

I could breathe that scripture in all day; it’s fresh air.

A few women came to mind when I read this. One of them, married and divorced — deserted and distressed in spirit. Another one never married, but fell in love young only to be rejected a few months before her wedding day. I think about the numerous women that I know, even now, who are broken and burdened at the expense of something a man did or didn’t do. Often times, what I’ve noticed (and have experienced) is that when a person hurts us (and who could hurt us more than a spouse, someone meant to protect and make our hearts feel safe?), the woman has no choice but to get up from the ground and try to become what she feels like was missing…because if she were everything that her husband had wanted, he wouldn’t have deserted or rejected her. That has to be it.

So we become women who have it all together and can do anything because we don’t need a man around (maybe a few cats…but defintely not a man!)…and at the end of the day, we always feel like something is missing. Always.

What I love about this is the beginning: “The Lord will call you back.” I love this for a few reasons… I love that the world looks down and the church frowns upon divorced women, but God is far in character from both the world and the church (sad, but true). I love that God is so far above and beyond what we could ever expect from a human being. Not only does He know what it’s like to be “deserted and distressed in spirit,” as well as “rejected,” but, I believe, that He knows every single decision that we’ve made, will make, and are making, based solely on making ourselves whole again, after having been left.

He knows the one too many glasses of wine.

He knows the ways we long for attention.

He knows our bittnerness.

He knows every poor, unclassy decision we’ve made (or thought about making).

It’s amazing because in this promise to His bride, He’s calling you back KNOWING that you’ve already been deserted and rejected.

I mean, seriously, anyone who has EVER thought that they need to become perfect in order to find God – or to be found by God – has never read this verse… because this verse claims the opposite. This verse claims that He’s going to find you where you are & bring you back to where He is.

That is the kind of God we serve.

“All beautiful you are, my darling; there is no flaw in you.” Song of Songs 4:7

2 thoughts on “Fresh Air”

  1. I’m kind of wildly reading through your blog. You have so much wisdom. I just wanted to say that this. THIS. This post is exactly where I’ve been and what I’ve done and who I thought I should be or who I thought someone else needed me to be…. Until He called me home and said child, stop fighting so hard. I’m fighting for you.

    ANYWAY- all of that is to say this: you used two of the verses that I clung to in separate but equally broken parts of my life that were promises I could soak in until I believed them to be true.

    This is lovely and your heart is lovely.

    So grateful I found your blog.

    1. Hi – Thank you so much for the encouraging words!! Your post has actually encouraged me to write more & update soon! πŸ™‚ Sometimes, it becomes challenging to update frequently — but I am hoping to become more diligent. hugs to you! love.

Leave a Reply

